Skip to main content

Children's Literature: Award Book Resources: NCTE Awards

Welcome! This guide features information about award books located the library's juvenile collection.

Orbis Pictus & Charlotte Huck Award Books in the Library

NCTE (National Council for Teacher's of English) children's book awards, presented for outstanding fiction and nonfiction for children, are part of the juvenile circulating collection located on the second floor of Ashland University Library. These titles are part of the regular collection and shelved using Library of Congress call number classification. Learn more about the Orbis Pictus (nonfiction) and Charlotte Huck Awards (fiction) using the links below.

Orbis Pictus Award Winners 1990 -

 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
2010 The Secret World of Walter Anderson Bass, Hester
2011 Ballet for Martha: Making Appalachian Spring Greenberg, Jan GV1790.A67 G74 2010
2012 Balloons Over Broadway Sweet, Melissa PN1982.S27 S24 2011
2013 Monsieur Marceau: Actor without Words Schubert, Leda PN1986.M3 S48 2012
2014 A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin Bryant, Jen ND237.P65 B79 2013
2015 The Family Romanov Fleming, Candace DK258.F5725 2014
2016 Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans Brown, Don HV636 2005.N4 B75 2015
2017 Some Writer: The Story of E.B. White Sweet, Melissa PS3545.H5187 Z296 2016
2018 Grand Canyon Chin, Jason F788.C485 2017
2019 Between the Lines Wallace, Sandra N. GV949.B376 W35 2018
2020 A Place to Land Wittenstein, Barry coming soon
 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
1990 The Great Little Madison Fritz, Jean E342.F75 1989
1991 Franklin Delano Roosevelt Freedman, Russell E807. F736 1990
1992 Flight:The Journey of Charles Lindbergh Burleigh, Robert TL540. L5 B83 1991
1993 Children in the Dust Bowl Stanley, Jerry
1994 Across America on an Emigrant Train Murphy, Jim PR5495 .M79 1993
1995 Safari Beneath the Sea Swanson, Diane QH104.4 .P32 S83 1994
1996 The Great Fire Murphy, Jim F548 .42 .M87 1995
1997 Leonardo da Vinci Stanley, Diane N6923 .L35 S72 1996
1998 An Extraordinary Life: The Story of a Monarch Butterfly Pringle, Laurence
1999 Shipwreck at the Bottom of the World Armstrong, Jennifer G850 1914 .S53 A76 1998
2000 Through My Eyes Bridges, Ruby F379.N59 N435 1999
2001 Hurry Freedom: African Americans in Gold Rush California Stanley, Jerry F865.S213 2000
2002 Black Potatoes Bartoletti, Susan Campbell DA950.7.B37 2001
2003 When Marian Sang Ryan, Pam Munoz ML3930.A5 R93 2002
2004 An American Plague Murphy, Jim RA644.Y4 M875 2003
2005 York's Adventures with Lewis and Clark Blumberg, Rhoda F592.7.Y67 B57 2004
2006 Children of the Great Depression Freedman, Russell HQ792.U5 F738 2005
2007 Quest for the Tree Kangaroo Bishop, Nic QL737.M35 M66 2006
2008 MLK Journey of a King Bolden, Tonya
2009 Amelia Earhart: The Legend of the Lost Aviator Tanaka, Shelley TL540.E3 T36 2008

Charlotte Huck Award Winners 2015 -

 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
2015 Rain Reign Martin, Ann PZ7.M3567585 Rai 2014
2016 Stella by Starlight Draper, Sharon PZ7.D78325 Ste 2015
2017 Ghost Reynolds, Jason
2018 After the Fall: How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again Santat, Dan PZ7.S2381 Aft 2017
2019 Sweep: The Story of a Girl and Her Monster Auxier, Jonathan PZ7.A9314 Swe 2018

Orbis Pictus Award

NCTE Orbis Pictus Award

"The NCTE Orbis Pictus Award was established in 1989 for promoting and recognizing excellence in the writing of nonfiction for children. The name Orbis Pictus, commemorates the work of Johannes Amos Comenius, Orbis Pictus—The World in Pictures (1657), considered to be the first book actually planned for children."

Orbis Pictus Award: Recent Winner(s)

Charlotte Huck Award

NCTE Charlotte Huck Award

"The NCTE Charlotte Huck Award for Outstanding Fiction for Children was established in 2014 to promote and recognize excellence in the writing of fiction for children. This award recognizes fiction that has the potential to transform children’s lives by inviting compassion, imagination, and wonder. "

Charlotte Huck Award: Recent Winner(s)