This is the "Main Menu" page of the "MLA Documentation Style" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MLA Documentation Style   Tags: mla  

Last Updated: Feb 5, 2013 URL: http://libguides.ashland.edu/mla Print Guide RSS Updates

Main Menu Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Main menu


CITING BOOKS (with authors)

book with no author (anonymous)  •  book with one author  •  book with two authors  •  book with three authors  •  book with four or more authors  •  book with corporate author  •  book with translator  •  book as new edition  •  book in multivolume set  •  multivolume set of books  •  dissertation (unpublished)  •  master's thesis  •  online book with print publication information

 

CITING BOOKS (with editors)

book with one editor  •  book with two editors  •  book with three editors  •  book with four or more editors  •  book with editor and translator  •  book with editor as new edition  •  book with editor in multivolume set  •  multivolume set of books with editor  •  online book with editor with print publication information

 

CITING BOOK CONTENT

essay in book with editor  •  essay in book with editor (multiple authors and/or editors)  •  poem, short story, or short play in book with editor  •  entire full-length work in book with editor  •  introduction in book (no editor)  •  introduction in book with editor  •  definition in dictionary  •  definition in specialized dictionary  •  article in encyclopedia  •  article in specialized encyclopedia  •  article in other reference book  •  online book content with print publication information

 

CITING JOURNAL CONTENT

journal article with one author  •  journal article with two authors  •  journal article with three authors  •  journal article with four or more authors  •  editorial in journal  •  letter to editor in journal  •  book review in journal  •  film review in journal  •  journal content in database  •  journal content in online journal

 

CITING MAGAZINE CONTENT

magazine article with one author  •  magazine article with two authors  •  magazine article with three authors  •  editorial in magazine  •  letter to editor in magazine  •  book review in magazine  •  film review in magazine  •  magazine content in database  •  magazine content in online magazine 

 

CITING NEWSPAPER CONTENT

newspaper article with no author (anonymous)  •  newspaper article with one author  •  newspaper article with two authors  •  editorial in newspaper  •  letter to editor in newspaper  •  book review in newspaper  •  film review in newspaper  •  newspaper content in database  •  newspaper content in online newspaper 

 

SAMPLE WORKS CITED LIST

sample works cited list

 

 

MLA Handbook



Available in the AU Library

Call # REF LB2369 .G53 2009

copies available for use in the Reference Collection and at the Reference Desk

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip