This is the "Circulating Collection" page of the "Graphic Novels" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Graphic Novels  Tags: education juvenile_books graphic_novel childrens_literature  

Use this guide as a starting point for information on Graphic Novels. Included are finding aids for graphic novels in the juvenile & regular collection as well as reference, database, and internet resources.
Last update: Jan 19th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.ashland.edu/graphicnovels  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Circulating Collection             Print Page
  
 

AU Circulating: Graphic Novels

Graphic novels placed in AU circulating are generally titles selected for high school and young adult readers.  These books are subject to the same collection development policies as books in the juvenile collection with specific attention paid to the recommended grade and reading levels accompanying the review. 

Review resources include, but are not limited to, Booklist, Book Links, The Horn Book Magazine, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, and The Reading Teacher.  Additionally, titiles may purchased for the juvenile collection at the request of education faculty.

The purpose of Ashland University Library's juvenile collection is to support the College of Education curriculum. Intended for AU students, preservice teachers, student teachers, and faculty members, the juvenile collection is also used by Ashland community borrowers and OhioLINK patrons.


Finding New Circ & YA Graphic Novels:

Graphic novels added to the circulating collection are initially placed on the new book shelves located on the library main floor. Circulating and YA graphic novels are featured, along with accompaning book reviews, on a bulletin board inside the IRC. This bulletin board is changed several times during the semester as new titles are added to the collection.

 

 

 

 

Circulating Books & The IRC Blog

The Instructional Resource Center Blog highlights purchases made for the IRC and includes additions to the juvenile and circulating collection. Graphic novels added to the collection are tagged "graphic novel" and link directly to the catalog for ease of use. 

 Add the IRC Blog to your feed readers to keep up with new additions!

 

I am in the Library, where is my book?

Library directories are located outside the elevator on each floor, inside the elevator, on on the library web page. Check the call number, the first letter will tell you which floor houses your book.  Having trouble locating a book?  Ask for help at the circulation desk on the main floor or inside the IRC.

 

Ashland University Library & OhioLINK Catalogs

Looking for a specific title?  Interested in particular topic? Search the catalog from LibGuides!  A Keyword catalog search will return juvenile graphic novels, AU circulating graphic novels, AU circulating books about graphic novels, and reference books on the topic of graphic novels. 

Ashland University Library Catalog

Not finding what you need in our library's Graphic Novel collection? Search for holdings in the OhioLINK catalog using the same beginning search strategy.

OhioLINK Catalog:

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait