Key word search or subject search?Finding Qualitative Research ArticlesFinding Quantitative Research ArticlesSelected Journals
This is the "Home" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ashland University Library sources for Nursing students and faculty.
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ashland.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to our Research Guide for Nursing, a starting point for your research. Please use the tabs above to find quality resources. If you need more assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me or one of the other reference librarians. We're always happy to help!

Your Library Account

Renew your library books and check status of OhioLINK requests

IMPORTANT UPDATE ABOUT LOGIN PROCESS!! PLEASE READ!

If you have difficulty accessing databases at AU CON in Mansfield, don't worry.  There is a fast and easy workaround.  Simply log in through OhioLINK rather than Ashland. Once you have logged in, you can move from database to database.   Use either the basic OhioLINK login link or use the second link for OhioLINK nursing databases. 

 

Electronic Reserves

Your professors may place articles and other documents in Electronic Reserves. They will need to provide you with a password to access the articles. The articles are accessible 24/7. 

DVDs and other items may be placed in Library Reserves and have a restricted borrowing period. They may be checked out during regular library hours.

 

Nursing Entrance Test Practice Exams

The AU Library subscribes to the LearningExpress database, which includes several Nursing Entrance Test Preparation practice exams.
  • LearningExpress Library  
      
    Offers unlimited, 24/7 access to targeted skill-building interactive courses. Interactive nursing school units include biology, chemistry, general science, math ability and reading comprehension Complete answer explanations accompany each response. All practice tests include instant diagnostic score reports to target those skill areas that need the most attention. See i note.
  • ATI --Nursing Preparation

Medical Pronunciations

Unsure of how to pronounce medical terms? Just use this tool from the Merck Manuals Online Medical Library.  You will need audio capability on your computer to use this site.  No new page will display when you click on a word. Just wait a second and you will hear the pronunciation of the term on your speakers or headphones.

 

Library Basics

 

 Most of the AU Library is online and available 24/7.  From anywhere in the world, at any time of day, the AU Library is here for you. Even when the library building is closed, you can access thousands of articles, read electronic books, ask a research question, view a digital film, browse digital image collections, order interlibrary loan articles, or request that books be delivered for you to any OhioLINK library, within days.

In addition, the physical library building is open 7 days a week, 15 hours a day on school days, and until 1 am during finals.  Detailed Library Building Hours 

 

Ask us a question!

Need help finding a particular book, constructing a better search or deciding which database to use?  We'd love to answer your research questions. 

Stop by the Information Desk to get some one-on-one help.  Or, there are several other ways to contact us.  Take your pick!

Look for HELP, LIBRARY in chat sidebar in your AU gmail. 

Or, look for KATHRYN VENDITTI in sidebar in your AU gmail. 

    TEXT a Librarian at 419-768-6106 

   CALL us at 419-289-5402  

 EMAIL a Librarian at library@ashland.edu 

 

Research Guide Librarian

 

Kathryn Venditti

Contact Info:
419.289.5427
kvenditt@ashland.edu

My normal library hours:
Monday 1-9
Tuesday 9-5
Wednesday -Friday 8-5

Reference desk phone: 419.289.5402
Reference desk email: library@ashland.edu
For questions about book loans, renewing and overdue fines, please call the Circulation Desk, 419-289-5400 during open hours
 

Find us on Facebook!

Off-Campus Support

Ashland University Library is committed to providing assistance, resources, & services to our students at the AU Centers, as well as to other Ashland University distance learners. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have questions or need help.

 

What do you think?

Your opinion is important to me. Please take a minute to let me know what you think about this Research Guide.  I'd like to know which are the most useful sections for you.  What else would you like to see here?  Any changes you can suggest?  If you find a web site you'd like me to consider adding, please send me a link.  This Research Guide is a collaborative project we can share.

Thanks!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip