Poetry E-Books
Dr. Brown English 102 E & F (Spring 2011)ENG 304 The Short Story--Dr. FitzSimmonsENG 314 Women's Literature --Dr. WatermanENG 102-Native American Literature -Prof. SmithENG 101 -Prof. KindbomENG 308: The Poem--Prof. RobinsonENG 102 Research Paper--Dr. Waterman
This is the "Home" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ashland.edu/lit Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Pimping the Dictionary

The updated New Oxford American Dictionary includes new words, phrases and adaptations, many evolving from American slang and social media. Some recent additions:

big media n. [treated as sing. or pl.] the main means of mass communication (i.e., television, radio, and the press), as opposed to blogs or other personal websites.

bromance n. informal a close but nonsexual relationship between two men.
– ORIGIN early 21st cent.: blend of brother and romance.

defriend v. another term for unfriend.

eggcorn n. a word or phrase that results from a mishearing or misinterpretation of another, an element of the original being substituted for one that sounds very similar or identical (e.g., tow the line instead of toe the line).
– ORIGIN early 21st cent.: with reference to a misinterpretation of acorn.

exit strategy n. a preplanned means of extricating oneself

pimp informal make (something) more showy or impressive.

Click below to see more from the Oxford University Press Blog

 

What do you think?

Your opinion is important to me. Please take a minute to let me know what you think about this website.  I'd like to know which are the most useful parts of the website for you.  What else would you like to see here?  Any changes you can suggest?  If you find a web site you'd like me to consider adding, please send me a link.  This Libguide is a collaborative project we can share.

Thanks!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Welcome!

 Welcome to our Subject Guide for English.  Use this guide as a starting point for researching literary topics. Please use the tabs above to find quality resources.  If you need more assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me or one of the other reference librarians.  We're always happy to help!

 

Ray Bradbury--How I fell in love with books

 

Ask us a question!

Need help finding a particular book, constructing a better search or deciding which database to use?  We'd love to answer your research questions. 

There are different ways to contact us.  Take your pick!

    TEXT a Librarian at 419-768-6106 

 

   CALL a Librarian at 419-289-5400  

 

 EMAIL a Librarian at library@ashland.edu 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kathryn Venditti
Logo - Google Talk
Contact Info
kvenditt@ashland.edu
419.289.5427

Text the Library 419-768-6106
FAX: 419.289.5422

401 College Ave.
Ashland, OH 44805

My Normal Hours:
Monday 1-9
Tues. 9-5
Wed.-Fri. 8-
Send Email
 

NYT Books Podcast

 Sam Tanenhaus, editor of the Book Review, talks with authors, editors & critics about new books. 

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Paris Review Author Interviews

The Paris Review now provides free access to all of its author interviews. The complete archive of author interviews begins in 1953 with "E. M. Forster, The Art of Fiction No. 1.    The collection can be browsed by name or by decade.

 Paris Review Author Interviews

The library also has a online subscription to the Paris Review in the database Humanities International Complete

and several anthologies of Paris Review stories and interviews in our collection.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip