LibGuides: French Literature, Language, and Culture: Articles and Databases

French Language Databases

History and Culture Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada), focusing on the fifteenth century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Includes world history, military history, women's history, and more. Dates covered: 1950s-present.
Central & European Academic Source This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary, multilingual database providing full-text coverage pertaining to all facets of central and eastern European countries. Covers academic areas including business and economics, medical sciences, political science, and law
Also includes library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, and sociology relating to this geographic region
European Views of the Americas: 1493 - 1750 This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas as written in Europe before 1750.
Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of indigenous American peoples. Original bibliography co-developed by staff of the John Carter Brown Library. Dates covered: 1493-1750.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, gender, and masculinity during the Middle Ages
Time period covered is 450-1500, with Russia extending to 1613 (beginning of Romanov dynasty). Contains over 20,000 records culled from more than 500 journals plus published essay collections. Covers publications in English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian. (Society for Medieval Feminist Scholarship) Dates covered: 1996-present. Not included in OneSearch.

Drama Databases

International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A definitive research database for theatre and dance studies, IBTD includes comprehensive indexing and full-text for top performing arts journals.
Content includes over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters, and abstracts of dissertations on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.

Literature Databases

Databases are the most efficient way to find quality articles. It's important to use the most useful database for your particular topic.

Many of the article citations include a link to the full text of the article, in either PDF or HTML format.. If there is no full text link for an article, click on FIND IT to discover if the article is available in full text in another of our databases. If there is no FIND IT or full text link, click on the Interlibrary Loan link to request the article.

The Search Tips on the Books page are also used for database searching.

Full Database List

Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
Provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and eras. Combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Provides information on 135,000 authors from all time periods and genres, including drama, fiction, poetry, history, journalism, and more.
more...less...
Contains full-text articles, essays, and reviews from journals and magazines; overviews of frequently studied works; and poems, stories, and plays. Much of the content was originally published in such Gale series as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, etc.
MLA International Bibliography
Can limit to article written in French or Spanish. MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. In annually indexes more that 45,000 books and articles.
more...less...
Coverage includes works about literature that is transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and about human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto). Inclusions must be of scholarly interest. No apprentice or simplified works are included.
Humanities International Complete
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Can limit to articles written in English, French, or Spanish, etc. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing).
JSTOR
Can limit to article written in French in the Advanced Search. The JSTOR project provides complete electronic backfiles of core journals in a variety of subjects. Full text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present. Recently published issues are not available

Online Databases

Gallica: Images et textes numérisés
The Bibliothèque Nationale's fast-growing collection of digitized materials. Worldwide Internet access.
Littérature de l'Afrique noire
This large-scale scholarly enterprise gathers together French-speaking literature from sub-Saharan Africa.
Littérature de l’Océan Indien
Francophone written and oral literature from the Indian Ocean, from the origins (18th century) to Independence (1960, or death of authors).
Manioc
Digital library specializing in the Caribbean, the Amazon, the Guyana Plateau and regions or areas of interest related to these territories. The collection contains digitized texts, documents, audio, and video, as well as iconographic references to cultural, social, economic or political historical events.
Roman de la Rose
Online library of all manuscripts containing the 13th-century poem Roman de la Rose. They currently have digital surrogates of more than 130 Roman de la Rose manuscripts, and the collection continues to grow. This is a joint project of the Sheridan Libraries of Johns Hopkins University and the Bibliothèque nationale de France.