Welcome! This library guide is a starting point for information and resources about select children's authors and illustrators with titles in Archer Library's juvenile collection.
Our collection includes picture books, chapter books, fiction, non-fiction, young adult fiction and non-fiction, big books and leveled books kits. Juvenile books are located adjacent to the Instructional Resource Center. Need help locating a title? Stop in the IRC for help.
Use the tabs at the top of the page to navigate this library guide. Research Resources provides a starting place for learning more about authors and their books; this tab collection also provides access to a full list of education databases and Archer Library catalog.
Authors and illustrators are grouped and presented alphabetically by last name; use the drop-down menu to make your selection. Each section includes a landing page with an overview of juvenile classification categories. Chaeck back often as this page is consistently updated with new author resources.
Here's a quick tip. When browsing the PZ7's - juvenile fiction shelves - titles are arranged alphabetically by author last name, then book title.
Navigate this library guide from left to right, starting with research resources, or choose an author or illustrator that is of interest to you.
Archer Library's juvenile collection supports the College of Education curriculum. Intended for AU students, preservice teachers, student teachers, and faculty members, the juvenile collection is also used by Ashland community borrowers and requested by OhioLINK patrons. Titles added to the juvenile collection are subject to reviews before purchase. Professional review resources include, but are not limited to, Booklist, Book Links, The Horn Book Magazine, and School Library Journal.
The juvenile collection includes award winning titles such as Newbery and Caldecott medal and honor books, Coretta Scott King author and illustrator award books, ALA Best Books for Young Adults, Notable Children's Books, and YALSA's Alex Awards.
Students are encouraged to read and evaluate books prior to classroom use. This step is necessary to determine if selected titles are appropriate for individual classroom situations. If you have questions about a particular title, consult with your professor or cooperating teacher before using in a lesson or sharing with children.
Need help with reviews? Archer Library's catalog provides quick access to reviews. Search for a title, such as The Book That Did Not Want to Be Read, and click on the book cover image to view additional information including summary, author notes, cover image, and available reviews.
If you have questions about information and resources presented in this guide, feel free to contact me via email at dschreck@ashland.edu. During IRC operating hours, Ask the IRC chat is available for general questions; a chat widget is located on this page.
Curriculum Librarian
Head of the IRC
✉ dschreck@ashland.edu
☏ 419.207.6406
Juvenile books are added to the collection throughout the term. New titles are featured on the IRC's News & Information Blog.
