LibGuides: ATS Library Electronic Resources: ATS Library Electronic Resources

OLD PAGE

This page is no longer being updated as part of our Ashland Theological Seminary Library LibGuide. Somehow you have reached this page in error. To be redirected to our current ATS Library LibGuide site, please CLICK HERE.

General Information

Here are some suggested electronic resources for Ashland Theological Seminary patrons. All resources are provided by one of the following sources:

Ashland Theological Seminary Library, Ashland University Library, OhioLINK.

Do you need some help with your research?

Sylvia Locher - ATS Library Director

(419) 289-5168

slocher@ashland.edu

Suggested Sources for EBooks

ATS-PURCHASED PSYCHOLOGY EBOOKS

View a listing of the most current psychology EBooks purchased by ATS.

ATS-PURCHASED RELIGION EBOOKS

View a listing of the most current religion EBooks purchased by ATS.

EBSCO eBook Collection: This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Includes fully searchable full-text online books purchased by OhioLINK and available via public-domain.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
EBC contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Most eBooks are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
Electronic Thesis & Dissertations Center (ETD) This link opens in a new window
ETD Center is a free, online database of Ohio's undergraduate, masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools.
It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted.

Suggested Databases To Locate Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
This database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage Dates: 1984 –
Atla Religion Databases This link opens in a new window
Index for religious and theological literature, covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Contains more than 1.8 million records covering the research literature of religion in over 60 languages.
Includes 570,000+ article citations from 1,679 journals; 237,000+ essay citations from 16,800+ multi-author works; 525,000+ book review citations; and a growing number of multimedia citations. Produced by the American Theological Library Association. Dates covered: 1908-present (plus some older content).
AtlaSerialsPlus This link opens in a new window
Online full-text collection of over 220 major religion and theology journals.Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Topics covered include (but are not limited to): the Bible; archaeology and antiquities; human culture and society; mission, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions and religious studies; theology and ethics. Dates covered: 1908-present. Not included in OneSearch.
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Covers over 140 titles, indexing approximately 136,170 articles and over 92,000 reviews. Religion, theology, biblical studies, and pastoral theology are prominent subjects
Also provides coverage of journals in other disciplines which put forth a Christian worldview. Database owned by the Association of Christian Librarians. Dates covered: 1976-present
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses
Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
IVP Bible Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
The IVP Bible Dictionary Series presents significant evangelical biblical scholarship from the 20th and 21st centuries
These volumes are "committed to affirming the authority of Scripture, utilizing contemporary research and the best critical methods, and maintaining dialog with the challenges facing today's church." This series is used by scholars, pastors, teachers, students, and lay people alike, and is available on the Credo Reference platform. (InterVarsity Press & Credo).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Explore millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more. All journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Database is a research and bibliographic aid for religion and theology scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.
Offers a growing collection of abstracts for religion and biblical theology research. Each year, 2,000 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion; approximately 900 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage dates back to 1977.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Database features indexing and abstracts for religion and theology journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies.
Covers an array of subjects including antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, and philology, making it essential for those conducting research in the fields of religion and theology. A product of a partnership between Atla and the Catholic Biblical Association.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology database containing full text from 400 journals, with total journal/magazine coverage exceeding 560.
Provides information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, and observational and experimental methods. Dates covered: 1970s-present (plus some older content). Included in OneSearch
APA Psycinfo This link opens in a new window
Contains over 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
Journal coverage includes international material selected from over 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. Dates covered: 1920s-present (plus some older content).
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 300 full-text journals and magazines. Subject areas include world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, and epistemology plus a full range of philosophical studies.
Dates covered: 1970s-present (plus some older content) Included in OneSearch
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and high quality sociology research database.
Includes over 2.1 million records, providing full text for 860+ journals (dating back to 1908), 830+ books/monographs, and 16,800+ conference papers. Abstracts more than 1,300 core journals as well as 3,350+ additional journals. Encompasses all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of sociology, including: abortion, criminology and criminal justice violence; demography; ethnic and racial studies; gender studies; marriage and family; substance abuse and other addictions; rural and urban sociology; social development social structure; social work; sociological research and theory; and many others. Also features over 25,000 author profiles per the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database. Dates covered: 1903-present. Included in OneSearch

Archer Library

ATS Library Electronic Resources